Denver Check Fraud Attorney | Contractor Charged with Fraud by Check for Depositing $5 Million Checks in Adams County
Check Fraud is not just charged when someone forges a check in Denver. It can be charged for writing a check when you know you don’t have the funds to cover it or even opening a checking account using false identification for the purpose of issuing bad checks. An Adams County contractor was recently charged with Fraud by Check after he attempted to deposit two $5 million dollar checks. The checks were written from a credit union account that was already overdrawn and were submitted to be deposited into another of the man’s accounts. A check that large automatically raised a red flag and upon further investigation, it was found that Check Fraud had been committed. The man was also charged with Theft and Forgery related to this case.
Facing Check Fraud charges?
Jefferson County Fraud by Check Lawyer: What is the Definition of Check Fraud in Douglas County?
The Jefferson, Adams, and Douglas County, Colorado law definition of Fraud by Check – C.R.S. 18-5-205 – is:
“Any person, knowing he has insufficient funds with the drawee, who, with intent to defraud, issues a check for the payment of services, wages, salary, commissions, labor, rent, money, property, or other thing of value, commits fraud by check.”
Because the man wrote the checks knowing he had insufficient funds to cover the amounts, he was charged with this crime. Based on the amount of money involved, he is facing time in the Jefferson County Jail or the Colorado Department of Corrections.
Sentence for Check Fraud in Arapahoe County
Fraud by Check can be a petty offense, misdemeanor, or felony depending on the amount the fraudulent checks were written for. In the case above, the man would be facing a class 6 felony because any fraudulent check written for $2,000 or more is a class 6 felony in Arapahoe County. The $2,000 does not have to be just one check, but can be the sum of one or more checks written in a 60-day period. This level felony is punishable by 12 to 18 months in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up $100,000 in fines.
Image Source: Pixabay-Gadini